These marshmallow rice krispie cakes are a classic! Hand up who made them when they were a kid. They are quick, fun and don’t require any baking. Even better, they are naturally dairy free, gluten free and egg free so a great treat for parties or playdates, that everyone can enjoy.
As you don’t need to use an oven, this recipe is perfect for parents who don’t consider themselves bakers, or nurseries and schools that want a simple, inclusive activity that the kids will love. All you need is three ingredients, then you can add extras to make them more unique or allow the children to personalise their creations.
How to make marshmallow rice krispie cakes
This recipe is very simple to make. You just need to make sure you melt the marshmallows gently and slowly. It is quicker with mini marshmallows, but full size ones are fine too. When you first start, it will look like they aren’t doing anything – but don’t be tempted to turn up the heat! After a few minutes they will start melting into a satisfying goo.
The great thing about simple recipe like this, is you can always add fun variations. Here are some ways you can jazz up your rice krispie cakes:
- Add some food colouring to the marshmallow mixture
- Sprinkle some chocolate chips over the top and press in
- Spray with edible glitter
- Make them unicorn themed with special sprinkles
- Drizzle white chocolate over them
Marshmallow Rice Krispie Cakes
- 50 grams Dairy free spread
- 200 grams Marshmallows
- 120 grams Rice Krispies
- Mini marshmallows (optional)
- Sprinkles (optional)
- Gently melt dairy free spread in a saucepan
- Add marshmallows and melt over a medium heat, stirring constantly
- Place Rice Krispies in a bowl and pour over melted mixture
- Stir until fully coated
- Press firmly into a greased tin
- Scatter mini marshmallows and sprinkles on top
- Leave to cool until firm
Allergy friendly ingredients – what to watch for
*Marshmallows – Most marshmallows are dairy free and egg free but remember this doesn’t make them vegan, as they contain gelatine (you can buy vegan versions). Some marshmallow recipe do contain egg so always check the ingredients thoroughly.
*Sprinkles – Most basic, shop bought sprinkles are sugar based and free from the top 14 allergens. However, some shapes and cake toppers contain egg white or gluten.
You might also like: Healthy dairy free gluten free flapjack