This easy dairy free and gluten free flapjack recipe will quickly become a staple in your home or lunch box. It takes no time to make and the kids love it. Even better, they won’t even realise it isn’t as sugar filled as the classic alternative!
The flapjack contains less than a third of the sugar of regular flapjack as it uses dates for sweetness instead of sugar. The dates add great nutritional benefits and also create the lovely golden colouring. Dates are a great source of fibre and are also contain calcium and magenesium.
The golden syrup replicates some of the traditional taste but you could use agave syrup or honey if you wanted it to remain refined sugar free. There is still sugar from the dates but they are a much healthier alternative than normal flapjacks.
You can add more nutritional benefits by thowing in a handful of pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds or chia seeds too. These all add some great texture and also extra protein. Just make sure to check for precautionary labelling as these ingredients are often processed alongside nuts or sesame seeds.
How to make dairy free & gluten free flapjack
This dairy free, gluten free flapjack makes a great breakfast on the go, lunch box filler or after school snack and will help kids stay full until their next meal. It’s also great for picnics or goes down well as party food too.
The ease of mixing everything together and pressing it into the tray makes it a good recipe for the kid to get involved in at home or school. All you need are scales, a bowl, saucepan, wooden spoon and baking tin.
Healthy Dairy Free & Gluten Free Flapjack
- 150 g pitted dates
- 4 tbsp water
- 100 g dairy free spread
- 1 tbsp golden syrup
- 175 g gluten free oats
- Blend dates and water together.
- Add to a saucepan with dairy free spread and golden syrup. and melt together gently.
- Mix in oats until fully coated
- Press into greased tin and bake at 180C for 10-15mins.
Allergy friendly ingredients – what to watch for
*Gluten free oats – although oats are naturally gluten free, they can often be contaminated during harvesting or processing so make sure you buy ones that are certified gluten free
*Dates – check for ‘may contain nuts’ warnings